#T5W TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Fandom Items/#OWLCRATE April 2018 Unboxing: Shadows and Secrets


Since this week's Top 5 Wednesday is about discussing our favorite fandom items, I combined this prompt with my first-ever Owlcrate unboxing for "Shadows and Secrets".

For those who don't know what Top 5 Wednesday is, it's a weekly book group about our top five favorite things in the middle of the week. 

Created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and now hosted by Samantha from ThoughtsonTomes, this week's entry describes our top 5 favorite fandom items. 

April 25: Favorite Fandom Items-- Whether it's something you own or something you are lusting after, what are some of your favorite fandom items/merch/memorabilia? Your picks don't all have to be from the same fandom!

The Sunshine Blogger Award 2018 | BOOK TAG


Anthony from Keep Reading Forward has nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Awards 2018! Thanks, new friend!

The Sunshine Blogger Award is given to those who are creative, positive and inspiring, while spreading sunshine to the blogging community.

DISCUSSION: Favorite Writing Resources and Websites


Here's another addition of my new Discussion segment on the blog, thanks to Vivatramp for the 100 Book Blog Post Ideas! This time, I'm here to discuss my favorite bookish websites and resources. 

As a writer myself, I use writing and journaling resources not only to help me become better at my craft, but also to keep myself up to date with publishing, marketing ideas, social media platforms, and more in the community. I hope these resources help you as they do me. 

#T5W TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Ideal Mashups for Book Taglines


I'm still super sick with a cold/seasonal allergies, so some of my entries for this post may seem like they have been written by someone with no sense! But here we are lol. Enjoy this week's T5W:

For those who don't know what Top 5 Wednesday is, it's a weekly book group about our top five favorite things in the middle of the week. 


Created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and now hosted by Samantha from ThoughtsonTomes, this week's entry describes our top 5 ideal mashups. 

April 18: Ideal Mash-Ups-- You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like "perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones"! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book? "A mix of ________ and ___________." Remember, you can also incorporate games, tv, movies, etc. Get creative! 

#BOOKBLOGGERHOP (APRIL 13-19): Fictitious Towns I'd Love to Visit




This week's question is about fictitious towns we'd love to visit or live in.

About the Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop was originally created by Jennifer from Crazy-For-Books in March 2010 and ended on December 31, 2012. With Jennifer's permission, I relaunched the meme on February 15, 2013. 

Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end on Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book related question. The hop's purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog.

This week's question submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews:
Is there a fictitious town in a book that you would love to live in? What makes it appealing?


FAVORITE "MEAN" GIRLS (Freebie) | TOP TEN TUESDAY #44


Formerly hosted by Jamie, Jana and Lauren of BrokeandBookish.com, Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly book meme that presents top ten lists on Tuesdays that promotes favorite bookish themes. Since BrokeandBookish.com had officially shut down in January 2018, Jana from ThatArtsyReaderGirl has offered to continue the series on her blog. 


How it works:

I assign each Tuesday a topic and then post my top ten list that fits that topic. You’re more than welcome to join me and create your own top ten (or 2, 5, 20, etc.) list as well. Feel free to put a unique spin on the topic to make it work for you! Please link back to That Artsy Reader Girl in your own post so that others know where to find more information.
This week's topic is a freebie, so I chose to use Jamie's topic, Favorite Mean Girls. Keep in mind that these characters aren't really mean, but more like shady and know how to make snappy comebacks!


#BOOKBLOGGERHOP (APRIL 6-12): How I Work on My Reviews and Review Deadlines




This week's question is about reviews and making decisions regarding review deadlines. 

About the Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop was originally created by Jennifer from Crazy-For-Books in March 2010 and ended on December 31, 2012. With Jennifer's permission, I relaunched the meme on February 15, 2013. 

Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end on Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book related question. The hop's purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog.

This week's question submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews:
Do you overextend yourself with too many reviews because you can't pass up a book in hopes you will get them all done or do you carefully plan and be sure you can fulfill the deadlines for all the promised reviews?


#T5W TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Auto-Borrow Fantasy Authors


You guys. I'm super sick with a cold/flu/sore throat/ everything, that I almost didn't go through with this post today, which was supposed to go up yesterday. But, I'm here and I didn't want to let you guys down without a post, so here we are! 

For those who don't know what Top 5 Wednesday is, it's a weekly book group about our top five favorite things in the middle of the week. 


Created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and now hosted by Samantha from ThoughtsonTomes, this week's entry describes our top 3 auto-buy sci-fi/fantasy authors. It's in conjunction with the Booktube SFF Awards Crossover babble. I don't buy a lot of books, I mostly borrow from the library or get the EBook. So I'll change this topic to auto-borrow! 

Also, I don't read SFF books very often; that's why there's only 3 authors listed. I'm more of a contemporary/mood reader, so for this topic, I had to do some digging to find some SFF authors. 

April 11: Auto-Buy Scifi and Fantasy Authors - Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic! -- This month's crossover topic is your auto-buy authors that write SFF.

My 25th Birthday, Weekly Prompts, Discussions and More | MARCH 2018 WRAP-UP


In Real Life (IRL)

I celebrated my 25th birthday last month! On the official day, I didn't do much of anything, but during the weekend, I spent it with both my mom and my best friends, Kim and Tracy, on different occasions. I'm lucky enough to be able to share my big birthday with so many loved ones. I still can't believe I'm 25, but I'm glad I made it this far! 

I also made a list about 25 Lessons Learned in 25 Years as a present to myself. 

#BOOKBLOGGERHOP (March 30-April 5): Book Clubs Can Be Fun, If Done Right




This week's question is about book clubs, and if we participate in them. Note: This post was supposed to be done last week, obviously, but it's been such a crazy weekend for me personally, that I've just now found the time to sit and write one post. Enjoy this very late post anyways! 

About the Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop was originally created by Jennifer from Crazy-For-Books in March 2010 and ended on December 31, 2012. With Jennifer's permission, I relaunched the meme on February 15, 2013. 

Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end on Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book related question. The hop's purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog.


DISCUSSION: Why Books Are Important in My Life | The Time and Place Book Tag


Here's another addition of my new Discussion segment on the blog, thanks to Vivatramp for the 100 Book Blog Post Ideas! This time, I'm here to discuss the Time and Place Book Tag. 

I think it's great how books create moments for me as a reader. They're not just pieces of paper with words on them. They create spaces for me to recognize meaningful moments in my life, no matter how bad or good or bad it may end up being when I close the book. There is a sense of reality in fiction, especially when characters and settings take place in situations that I can relate to, or may know someone who has gone through similar situations. 

That being said, here are ten books that have been there for me in specific moments in my life, as part of the Time and Place Book Tag, created by Jen Campbell

*SPOILERS* 'THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR' BY NICOLA YOON | LIBRARY MINI-REVIEW


Since this is a library book that has to go back soon, (I'm borrowing from Overdrive) I've chosen to do a mini-review of my first borrow, The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. 

Trigger Warning (TW): attempted suicide, suicidal thoughts